National Consortium Board of Directors

The 2019–2020 BHAC Board of Directors includes:

President: Bernadette Melnyk, PhD, RN, FAANP, FNAP, FAAN, is vice president for health promotion, university chief wellness officer, and dean of the College of Nursing at The Ohio State University. She also is a professor of pediatrics and psychiatry in the College of Medicine. Melnyk is an internationally recognized expert in evidence-based practice, health and wellness, mental health, and intervention research, and is a frequent keynote speaker at national and international conferences. Her scholarship record includes more than $19 million in sponsored funding from federal agencies as principal investigator, and author of more than 250 publications, including four books. She served a four-year term on the 16-member United States Preventive Services Task Force, and currently serves as a member of the National Quality Forum’s (NQF) Behavioral Health Standing Committee and the National Institutes of Health’s National Advisory Council for Nursing Research. In addition, Melnyk is an elected member of the Institute of Medicine. She has successfully led collaborative national initiatives and has served as president of a national organization.

Secretary: Mary Johnson, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC, CWP.After completing a bachelor of science degree in Molecular Biology at Meredith College, Johnson obtained an accelerated bachelor of science degree in Nursing, a master of science in Nursing as a family nurse practitioner, and a doctorate of nursing practice at Duke University. In 2015 she returned to Meredith to serve as the director of Health Services. At Meredith, she serves as co-chair of the campus' Wellness Advisory Committee and member of the Safety and Health Committee, Orientation Committee, and various campus task forces related to student wellness. She also serves as an advisor for the campus’ peer educators and a preceptor for both UNC, Duke, and Meredith students in nursing and public health. After transferring some Healthy Campus 2020 principles to Meredith during her initial program assessment, Mary obtained her certified wellness practitioner designation with the National Wellness Institute and continues to use this knowledge to influence both in her practice and campus education.


Treasurer: Brenda Seals is an associate professor and chair of the Department of Public Health at The College of New Jersey. She teaches Research Methods, Grant Writing and oversees Capstone Projects for the BS and MPH programs. She serves as a co-investigator on many community-based participatory approach projects including a Patient Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) study of hepatitis among Asian Americans living from Delaware to New York City. She is also co-investigator of a CDC REACH grant geared to improve diets among Chinese, Vietnamese, Korean and Filipino Community Based Organizations serving meals to community members. Another component of the REACH grant works with Asian supermarkets to promote healthier foods and improve store offerings of lower salt, higher fiber and better oil products. Brenda has worked with Native American and African American populations for studies of HIV, cancer, violence and injury and mental health. 

Research & EBP Chair: Mario R. Ortiz, RN, PhD, PHCNS-BC, FNP-C, FNAP, is dean and professor of nursing at Binghamton University's Decker School of Nursing, director of the school's Kresge Center for Nursing Research, Executive Director of Community Practices, and serves on the Healthy Campus Initiative Board of Directors. He has a proven record of success in developing healthcare education programs that meet community healthcare and service gaps with a focus on wellness, has established and nurtured critical partnerships with healthcare providers and organizations to provide healthcare to the underserved, and has a rich portfolio of community, faculty, and staff development. He has garnered millions of dollars in endowments and grants to support community-based health and wellness efforts. Ortiz earned a PhD in nursing from Loyola University Chicago and is a nationally certified community/public health nurse specialist and family nurse practitioner. 

Advisory Board Chair: Lindsey W. Nanney, M.S, PAPHS, GFS serves as the Physical Activity and Wellness Coordinator at the University of North Carolina Wilmington. The program, a graduation requirement for all undergraduate students, focuses on whole person well-being and sustainable engagement in physical activity. Approximately 3200 undergraduate students go through the program each academic year. Lindsey previously served as the Lifetime Physical Activity and Fitness Program Coordinator at East Carolina University.





External Affairs Chair: Stacy Connell is the first senior director for Health Initiatives at the Georgia Institute of Technology. She leads the newly established Health Initiatives department which focuses on providing upstream, innovative, and relevant health and well-being programs, services, and initiatives that lead to thriving and fulfilled students and employees. Prior to Georgia Tech, Stacy served at North Carolina State University as the Associate Director of University Recreation and created university-wide wellness initiatives for students and employees in addition to leading club sports, intramural sports, fitness, outdoor adventures and challenge course programs.  Stacy also worked as the assistant director for Fitness & Wellness at the University of Georgia and Texas Christian University. 



Past-President: Megan Amaya, PhD, CHES, is an assistant professor of clinical practice and director of health promotion and wellness at The Ohio State University. She is president of the Society of Public Health Educators Ohio Chapter, and steering team member for the central region Healthy Ohio Business Council. She is a certified health education specialist, a certified personal trainer and a certified group fitness instructor. Megan has been instrumental in launching the National Consortium for Building Healthy Academic Communities. She coordinated the National BHAC Summit in 2013 and the Ohio BHAC Summit in 2014. Amaya was also a member of the planning committee for the 2015, 2017 and 2019 national summits. 







                                                    Membership Chair: Open